What’s in a Name?

I wish you had
an obscure name,
one that I did not
have to worry about
seeing or hearing. 

Your’s causes me
to lose the
ability to breathe, 
to seize up in fear;
and it is all too common. 

I hear your name
and I remember the pain I
felt the first time you
called me “bitch.”

I hear your name 
and I remember the fear I
felt when you threw a 
picture frame at me and
it smashed against the wall.

I hear your name
and I remember how much I
believed you when you told 
me I was worthless.

I wish you had
an obscure name
but moreover, I
wish that you did not
still have the 
power to take
my breath away 
in the cruelest
and most frightening 
of ways.

Leave a Reply

