Full is a Euphemism for Empty

I tell them
I am full,
like the a swimming pool
after a rainstorm
so that I
can continue
to pour myself
out to them.

Well I have not
been full for
so very long,
and I can barely
even see
that I am empty
like a swimming pool
drained at the beginning of autumn.

I feel compelled
to help and
give myself
to others
in any possible way
I can conceive.

For too long
have I been
pouring from
a vessel that is
too empty and
broken to hold any
help, comfort or guidance.

Yet still I try
to fill the vessel
and to pour
my heart and soul
out to the world

but it is
time that I

ask myself – 
at what cost
must I remain
empty and broken?

Leave a Reply

