Wings

I was not your
first,
or even your last. 

But you made me 
feel special and
important

and like it did
not matter what
number I was. 

I only had you
for eight years
and sometimes I
curse the world
for not giving us 
more time. 

Then I remember
you telling me
which Pokemon 
you liked best
and the time you
wore the funny
sunglasses
and I thank any
God I can think of
for those beautiful
eight years. 

Grandpa, I never 
got to give you the 
goodbye
you deserved;
but if I had one
last minute to tell
you anything, I
would tell you that I
got wings for you
to thank you
for giving me mine. 

Leave a Reply

