S581

I grew up here. 
This is where I
came to be on my own.
This is where I
said my hardest 
goodbyes and some
of my happiest 
hellos. 
This is where I
thought my life
would begin,
not where it
would fall apart. 
This is where I 
realized things
had changed.
This is where I 
cried myself 
to sleep and
laughed until 
I cried. 
This is where
the past came 
back to haunt
me in the form of 
a text message.
This is where I
learned that I 
am stronger
and more
brave than I
ever knew.
This is where I
met the most
amazing friends
who replaced the
ones I thought
would never leave.
This is where I
learned to say no
and where I 
learned that 
validation does not
come from
a body.
I grew up here.

Leave a Reply

