Junior

They said that
I deserved better
but I did not
believe them.

I accepted the love
that I was used to
and that I thought
I deserved.

So I defended you
and said that they
did not know you
like I did.

They said that
you did not treat
me well, and the
truth is they were right.

But I equated
love with control
which is what
you had over me.

I wish that I
had believed
every word
they had said.

Because how can you
use the same breath
to call someone a bitch
and say “I love you”?

Leave a Reply

