What I Mean When I Say I’m Exhausted

When I tell you that I’m exhausted I hope you take it seriously.

I don’t mean that I went out and partied last night and now I’m hungover.
I don’t mean that I procrastinated on my assignment and did it the night before it was due.
I don’t mean that I was on the phone with my boyfriend all night.

The reason I said I couldn’t go out is because I had a panic attack and I’ve been crying for three hours.
I was up all night reading that assignment over and over for the umpteenth time.
I told my boyfriend I went to sleep when I actually stayed awake thinking of everything I’ve ever done wrong.

I can’t always explain it at the time, but I promise there’s more to it than just “being tired”.

One thought on “What I Mean When I Say I’m Exhausted

  1. I know what it feels like to have debilitating mental illnesses. I have so much empathy for you. I have Misophonia, PTSD, ED and clinical depression. It makes me tired of life and I believe that is what you are referring to as well. Hang in there xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

