It Wasn’t Ever Your Fault

Dear Mom & Dad,

The word champion can be defined as the following: a person who fights or argues for a cause or on behalf of someone else.

Over the years, you two have grown so much and I don’t think I have ever thanked you properly. I think we can all agree that I was less than an easy child to raise; but not for conventional reasons. I was well (enough) behaved at school, I was outgoing and had good friends, but I was extremely sensitive and could switch moods at the drop of a hat. I can’t honestly say when the exact onsets of my depression and anxiety were, but I look back at some moments in my childhood and I think I always had tendencies that veered that way; and it breaks my heart to think of what I may have put you through at times.

Now before you get offended, I never once got the feeling from you that I was in any way a burden; however I cannot say I never thought that of my own accord. But I know that it wasn’t easy for you. That being said, I am truly thankful for being able to say that I know what unconditional love is. We argue, and we bicker; but I have never felt like I didn’t have someone in my corner.

Thank you for making me believe that I always had a place to go and to call home.

Thank you for asking questions even when you could tell I didn’t want to answer.

Thank you for being a voice when I couldn’t find my own.

Thank you for being open to learning new things.

Thank you for accepting that not all illnesses  can be seen.

Thank you for helping to fix my mind with the same love and care that you would try to heal s scraped knee.

Thank you for becoming my champion, especially at times when I couldn’t be my own.

You always told me it wasn’t my fault, but I want you to know it wasn’t ever yours either.

Love,

Emma

Leave a Reply

