But What’s the Difference?

Dear Diary,

My two closest friends will NEVER get along! I can’t imagine living without them, so I have no idea what to do.

They don’t even see how similar they are! I mean, don’t get me wrong, they’re definitely different; but there are a few striking similarities.

Now that I think about it though, they’re not what anyone would call “good” friends..

I mean, between Annie and Dizzy, neither one of them is every really looking out for me…

In fact, sometimes, it’s like they’re just waiting on me to fall. No. Scratch that. Sometimes, it’s like they’re the ones pushing me.

Annie likes to Remind me all the time about stuff I’d like nothing more than to forget about.

Like the fact that I still don’t have a full time job, haven’t applied to grad school, haven’t lost weight, haven’t cleaned my room enough…

Blah blah blah.

But then I have Dizzy in my other ear, and she’s no better!!

“No one will hire you anyways.”
“Your grades aren’t good enough for grad school. Dumb ass.”
“You’ll never be small enough.”
“You have no friends, who cares if your room is a mess?”

With friends like these, who needs enemies? Am I right?

Thankfully over the years, I’ve learned to just tune them out; most of the time. Sometimes, I get careless and I can hear them arguing over and over again in my head all the time!

But we’ve been “friends” for so long, it’s not like I can just cut them out of my life… right?

I guess the longer I live with them, the more I can learn how to live with them.

Talk to you tomorrow Diary!

I wonder what they’ll fight about next…

Leave a Reply

