They Asked me How it Felt

I feel lost,
But I’m not going anywhere.
I’m not moving,
But I’m out of breath.

I know I’m safe here,
But everything is scary.
It’s the middle of January,
But I’m sweating through my clothes.

I am alone,
But the voices won’t be quiet.
It’s as if all my words are gone,
But I’m dying to speak.

I feel like every inch of me hurts,
But sometimes I feel so numb I crave pain.
I am tired all the time,
But when I lay down I cannot sleep.

Each day I wake up,
I hope and I pray;
That one day I’ll feel normal-
And maybe today is that day.

Leave a Reply

